CANADIAN ASSOCIATION OF LAW TEACHERS
L’ASSOCIATION CANADIENNE DES PROFESSEURS DE DROIT

Cycle de Webinaires de l'ACPD

Cycle de Webinaires de l’ACPD

Nous sommes heureux d’annoncer les événements suivants pour le cycle de webinaires de l’ACPD. Veuillez cliquer sur chaque lien pour plus de détails:

 

Un voyage juridique entre la réalité et la fiction: les jeux pervasifs dans les facultés de droit

Vendredi 7 août 2020 , de 14 h 00 à 15 h 30, heure de l’Est

Les jeux pervasifs brouillent les frontières entre le monde du jeu et le monde réel. Dans cet atelier, nous proposons de partager nos expériences avec la création et la mise en œuvre d’un jeu éducatif pervasif dans deux cours de droit de l’environnement. Nous allons discuter de la façon dont nous avons fusionné une mise en situation qui a duré tout le long d’une session—où un professeur est enlevé pendant le cours—avec des salles d’évasion, des chasses au trésor et d’autres activités en salle de classe. Nous partagerons les défis auxquels nous avons été confrontés en ce qui concerne la création, l’engagement et l’analyse des activités en classe. Au cours de l’atelier, nous aborderons les questions suivantes: quels types de ressources sont nécessaires pour développer et mettre en oeuvre des jeux pervasifs en classe? Quels sont les principaux éléments à considérer lors du développement d’un jeu pervasif? Quels sont les risques de mettre en œuvre un jeu pervasif en classe? Nous voulons démontrer que la création et la mise en œuvre d’un jeu pervasif ne sont pas des tâches impossibles, mais que les jeux pervasifs sont plutôt un moyen très accessible de transformer un cours.   

Organisateurs:

  • Thomas Burelli (Faculté de droit, Section de droit civil, Université d’Ottawa)
  • Alexandre Lillo (Faculté de droit, Section de droit civil, Université d’Ottawa)

Veuillez noter que cette séance aura lieu en anglais.

S'inscrire pour les jeux pervasifs dans les facultés de droit

 

Les boulots parallèles des profs de droit

Lundi 10 août 2020, 14 h, heure de l’Est

Cette table ronde interactive en ligne explorera les questions éthiques et institutionnelles soulevées par les professeurs de carrière dans les facultés de droit canadiennes qui entreprennent du travail rémunéré supplémentaire. Des professeurs de droit entreprenants ont participé à un large éventail de travaux rémunérés supplémentaires. Bien que ce ne soit pas un phénomène nouveau, certains perçoivent une croissance à la fois du nombre de professeurs de droit qui acceptent du travail rémunéré supplémentaire et de l’intensité de ce travail au cours des dernières années. Et pourtant, il y a eu peu de discussions sur ce sujet au sein de la communauté universitaire. Les enjeux sont nombreux, soulevant des questions liées à la répartition des tâches administratives, aux impacts sur les dynamiques d’enseignement et d’apprentissage, aux impacts sur la recherche, à la construction de cultures collégiales, aux rôles des professeurs de droit dans les communautés plus larges, et aux protections liées à la permanence et la liberté académique dont jouissent les professeurs de droit. Cette table ronde interactive vise à susciter une discussion sur ces sujets.

Coprésidents:

  • Benjamin Berger (Osgoode Hall Law School, Université York)
  • Sean Rehaag (Osgoode Hall Law School, Université York)

Répondants:

  • Andrew Botterell (Université Western)
  • Tina Piper (Université McGill)
  • Gemma Smyth (Université de Windsor)

Veuillez noter que cette séance aura lieu en anglais.

S’inscire pour Les boulots parallèles des profs de droit

 

 

Événements passés

Sujets « chauds » dans les cours de droit en ligne

Un sujet « chaud » est un qui a déjà conduit à des ruptures, des bouleversements et des conflits dans nos classes. Ce n’est pas tout simplement «quelque chose sur lequel les étudiants ne sont pas d’accord». C’est plutôt quelque chose où les désaccords semblent faire mal et s’envenimer, provoquant des ruptures qui persistent. Ces deux tables rondes, l’une orientée vers les grands groupes et l’autre vers les petits groupes, se concentreront sur deux questions principales: comment nos pratiques pour traiter des sujets « chauds » en classe seront-elles affectées par le passage en ligne? Qui établit les règles / directives de conduite / participation et où incombera la responsabilité institutionnelle de résoudre des problèmes ?

Afin de permettre à tous les participants de contribuer, l’inscription est limitée à 20 personnes par séance et la double inscription ne sera autorisée que si le nombre le permet.

 

Sujets « chauds » dans les petits groupes en ligne : Une table ronde

Mercredi 29 juillet 2020, de 13 h à 15 h, heure de l’Est

Cette table ronde sera vouée à un échange entre professeurs de droit qui enseigneront en ligne aux petits groupes (par exemple, style séminaire, basé sur la discussion, <25 étudiants), et qui prévoient d’utiliser un élément synchrone significatif dans ces classes.

Les organisatrices sont des professeures féministes qui donnent, entre autres, un cours intersectionnel sur le genre, la sexualité et le droit; un cours sur la race, le racisme et le droit; et un cours sur les théories féministes en droit. Ces cours comprennent un traitement nuancé de sujets allant au-delà du droit positif, tels que les agressions sexuelles, la pornographie, le commerce du sexe, le racisme systémique, le colonialisme et les prisons. Pour de nombreux étudiants, ce sont des sujets difficiles. Nous souhaitons générer un dialogue sur les meilleures pratiques pour transposer les discussions sur des sujets « chauds » aux environnements virtuels.

Les organisatrices feront circuler à l’avance l’ordre du jour de la séance, qui comprendra quelques questions préliminaires pour guider la discussion. La séance s’ouvrira par de brèves remarques et les organisatrices poseront des questions d’orientation. Des discussions auront lieu entre les participants à l’aide d’une liste d’intervenants et des questions générées dans le clavardage de la plateforme en ligne. Une organisatrice prendra des notes et fournira des commentaires et des notes aux participants intéressés par courriel après la table ronde.

Organisatrices:

  • Angela Cameron (Faculté de droit, Section de common law, Université d’Ottawa)
  • Sonia Lawrence (Osgoode Hall Law School, Université York)
  • Jena McGill (Faculté de droit, Section de common law, Université d’Ottawa)
  • Pooja Parmar (Faculté de droit, l’Université de Victoria)

Veuillez noter que cette séance aura lieu en anglais.

 

Sujets « chauds » dans les grands groupes en ligne : Une table ronde (COMPLET)

Lundi 27 juillet 2020, de 13 h à 15 h, heure de l’Est

Cette table ronde réunira des personnes qui enseigneront aux GRANDS GROUPES EN LIGNE (c.-à-d.> 30 étudiants dans des cours obligatoires ou quasi obligatoires) au cours de la prochaine année universitaire avec des composantes synchrones importantes et qui sont intéressées à échanger sur les approches aux sujets « chauds ».

Les réponses en salle de classe aux critiques du Canada contemporain basées sur le racisme, en particulier le racisme anti-Noirs, la colonialité et les expériences des nations et des personnes autochtones sont une préoccupation importante pour de nombreux professeurs de droit dans les cours en présentiel et le demeureront, de manières semblables et différentes, avec le passage en ligne. 

Les organisatrices distribueront un ordre du jour plus détaillé aux participants et animeront la discussion afin de garantir une allocation appropriée du temps aux points de l’ordre du jour et aux contributions des participants. Les organisatrices feront également circuler une liste de ressources à partager à l’avance et prendront des suggestions d’ajouts à la liste. Les organisatrices n’agiront pas en tant qu’enseignants ou experts sur ce sujet. La table ronde ne traitera pas des aspects technologiques des plateformes d’enseignement en ligne.

Organisatrices:

  • Jula Hughes (Faculté de droit Bora Laskin, Université Lakehead)
  • Sonia Lawrence (Osgoode Hall Law School, Université York)
  • Pooja Parmar (Faculté de droit, Université de Victoria)

 

Veuillez noter que cette séance aura lieu en anglais.

Les inscriptions sont maintenant fermées.

 

Procédure civile et racisme : une café-causerie virtuelle

Lundi 13 juillet 2020, de 14h 00 à 15h 00, heure de l'Est

C’est un honneur pour l’ACPD d’annoncer cet événement comme partie sa série de webinaires, le lundi 13 juillet 2020, de 14h à 15h HAE, par intermédiaire de Zoom :

Cette séance réunira des individus enseignant la procédure civile et des sujets connexes pour discuter de la manière dont ils pourront traiter des problèmes de racisme anti-noir et d’autres formes de racisme pendant l'année scolaire 2020-2021. La séance prônera l'autoréflexion et la pensée collaborative. Les contributeurs listés n’essaieront pas d’offrir de réponses définitives. Ils prépareront plutôt des questions pour guider la discussion, chercheront à obtenir des idées des participants et proposeront certaines de leurs propres idées sur la façon dont ils envisagent d’aborder ces sujets. La séance vise à favoriser une communauté d’enseignants de procédure civile à travers le Canada qui sont déterminés à enseigner et à apprendre en tenant compte des questions raciales et qui continueront d’apprendre les uns des autres. Veuillez noter que cette séance aura lieu en anglais.

Contributeurs:

  • Anna Lund, professeure adjointe, Université de l'Alberta (organisatrice et coprésidente de la session)
  • Nayha Acharya, professeure adjointe, Université Dalhousie (coprésidente de la session)
  • Basil Alexander, professeur adjoint, Université du Nouveau-Brunswick (intervenant)

 

Forum sur l’enseignement et l’apprentissage du droit dans le contexte COVID

Mardi 2 juin 2020, de 13h 00 à 15h 00, heure de l'Est

L’Association canadienne des professeurs de droit (ACPD) a organisé deux forums un ligne (en format «table ronde») sur l’enseignement et l’apprentissage du droit en contexte COVID.

La pandémie COVID de 2020 a contraint les facultés de droit à passer à l’enseignement en ligne et à entreprendre d’autres changements majeurs, comme les systèmes d’évaluation modifiés. Quelles leçons les professeurs de droit peuvent-ils tirer de ces changements inusités? Quels autres besoins surgissent et comment devrions-nous essayer de répondre à ces besoins? Quel sera probablement l’impact durable? Alors que nous déplorons les circonstances, avons-nous découvert de nouvelles idées ou de nouvelles approches qui méritent d’être conservées?

La version anglaise a eu lieu le mardi 2 juin 2020 de 13h à 15h HAE.

Les panélistes étaient notamment:

  • Olabisi Akinkugbe (Université Dalhousie)
  • Lisa Cirillo (Downtown Legal Services, Université de Toronto)
  • Catherine Dauvergne (Université de la Colombie-Britannique)
  • Craig Forcese (Université d’Ottawa)
  • Sonia Lawrence (Osgoode Hall, Université York)
  • Shauna Van Praagh (Université McGill)

Voir la version anglaise ici:

 

La version française (organisée conjointement avec l’Association des professeures et professeurs de droit du Québec) a eu lieu le mercredi 17 juin 2020 de 13h30 à 15h30 HAE. Le panel a été présidé par Dia Dabby (UQAM) et  Sèdjro Hountohotegbè (Université de Sherbrooke).

Les panélistes étaient notamment:

  • Andrée Boisselle (Osgoode Hall, Université York)
  • François Brochu (Université Laval)
  • Thomas Burelli et Alexandre Lillo (Université d’Ottawa)
  • Adrien Habermacher (Université de Moncton)
  • Shauna Van Praagh (Université McGill)
  • Nathalie Vézina (Université de Sherbrooke)

Voir la version française ici:

 

 

 


Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

CANADIAN ASSOCIATION OF LAW TEACHERS
L’ASSOCIATION CANADIENNE DES PROFESSEURS DE DROIT

CALT Webinar Series

We are pleased to announce the following events for the CALT webinar series. Please click on each link for more details:

 

Teaching Canadian Tort Law in Its Social Context

Wednesday 30 September 2020, 11AM-12:30PM Eastern time

This session is organized jointly with the Law and Feminism Research Group and the Legal Education Seminar Series (both at Western Law).

The law of torts has the capacity to perpetuate and to exacerbate systemic social inequalities. In recent years, working from a variety of standpoints, such as feminism, critical race theory and disability theory, legal scholars have explored some of its impact on marginalized social groups. Yet tort law is still taught in Canadian law schools in a way that abstracts from its social context. It is presented in the major Canadian casebooks and textbooks as a neutral instrument for the promotion of general policy goals such as deterrence and compensation. This roundtable discussion aims to bridge the divide between tort law’s context-rich reality and its context-stripped pedagogy.

Chair:

  • Zoë Sinel (Western)

Panelists:

  • Elizabeth Adjin-Tettey (Victoria)
  • Erika Chamberlain (Western)
  • Sophia Moreau (Toronto)
  • Melanie Randall (Western)
  • Jean Thomas (Queen’s)

Register for “Teaching Canadian Tort Law in Its Social Context”

 

Critical Perspectives in Tax and Business Law: A Roundtable on Legal Pedagogy

Wednesday 21 October 2020, 1:00 to 3:00 PM, Eastern time

The session will begin with a presentation by Jeffery G. Hewitt (Osgoode) and Shanthi E. Senthe (Windsor) of their paper, “Disrupting Business as Usual: Considering Teaching Methods in Business Law Classrooms.” Following the presentation, tax commentators will reflect on how the pedagogical experiences and reflections of Hewitt and Senthe could be applied in tax law classrooms. We will then move into a roundtable format. Participants will be asked to share how they include critical perspectives in their own business and tax law classrooms. The focus will be on sharing current pedagogical practices, discussing ongoing challenges, and considering how to further include critical perspectives in Business and Tax Law.

Co-chairs:

  • Allison Christians (McGill)
  • Samuel Singer (Ottawa)

Presenters:

  • Jeffery G. Hewitt (Osgoode)
  • Shanthi E. Senthe (Windsor)

Tax Commentators:

  • Bradley Bryan (Victoria)
  • Emily Satterthwaite (Toronto)
  • Samuel Singer (Ottawa)

Register for “Critical Perspectives in Tax and Business Law”

 

Past events

Law Prof Side Hustles

Monday, 10 August 2020, 2PM Eastern Time

This interactive online roundtable will explore ethical and institutional questions raised by full-time tenure-stream professors at Canadian law schools who take on additional paid work. Enterprising law professors have undertaken a wide range of additional paid work. While this is not a new phenomenon, some perceive a growth both in the number of law faculty taking on additional paid work and in the intensity of that work in recent years, and yet with little discussion within the Canadian legal academy.  The policy issues are many, raising questions related to the distribution of administrative duties, the impacts on teaching and learning dynamics, the impacts on research, the construction of collegial cultures, the roles of law professors in broader communities, and the protections related to tenure and academic freedom that law professors enjoy.  This interactive roundtable aims to prompt a discussion on these topics.

Co-Chairs:

  • Benjamin Berger (Osgoode Hall Law School, York University)
  • Sean Rehaag (Osgoode Hall Law School, York University)

Discussants:

  • Andrew Botterell (Western University)
  • Tina Piper (McGill University)
  • Gemma Smyth (University of Windsor)

 

A Legal Journey Between Reality and Fiction : Pervasive Games in Law School

Friday, 7 August 2020, 2PM-3:30PM Eastern Time

Pervasive games blur the boundaries between the game world and the real world. In this workshop, we propose to share our experiences with the creation and the implementation of an educational pervasive game in two environmental law classes. We will discuss how we merged a semester long scenario, in which a professor is kidnapped during the class, with escape rooms, scavenger hunts, and other classroom activities. We will share the challenges we faced with the creation, engagement, and analysis of classroom activities. During the workshop, we will address the following questions: What type of resources are required to develop and implement pervasive games in class? What are the main components to consider during the development of a pervasive game? What are the risks of implementing a pervasive game in class? We want to demonstrate that the creation and the implementation of a pervasive game is not an impossible task but rather a very accessible way to transform a class.

Convenors:

  • Thomas Burelli (Civil Law Section, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa)
  • Alexandre Lillo (Civil Law Section, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa)

Thomas Burelli and Alexandre Lillo have also published a “cookbook” on online game-based “cookbook” on online game-based learning (click here for the English version).

Watch the webinar here:

 

“Hot” Topics in Online Law Classes

A ‘hot’ topic is one that has led to ruptures, upset, conflict in our classes in the past. It is not “anything that students disagree about”.  Rather it is something where the disagreements seem to hurt and fester, causing ruptures that linger. These two roundtables, one geared toward Large Online Classes and the other toward Small Online Classes, will focus on two main questions: How will our practices for dealing with hot topics in the classroom be affected by the move online?  Who is setting the rules/guidelines for conduct/participation and where will institutional responsibility lie for addressing challenges?

In order to enable all participants to contribute, registration is limited to 20 people per session and double-registration will not be permitted unless numbers allow.

 

“Hot” Topics in Small Online Law Classes: A Roundtable Discussion

Wednesday, 29 July 2020, 1PM – 3PM, Eastern Time  

This roundtable will invite exchange between law professors who will be teaching small classes (i.e.: seminar style, discussion based, < 25 students) in the online environment, and who are planning to use significant synchronous engagement in these classes.

The Convenors are feminist professors who teach, amongst other things, an intersectional course on gender, sexuality and the law, a course on race, racism and the law, and a course on feminist legal theory. These courses include nuanced treatment of subjects beyond doctrinal law, such as sexual assault, pornography, the sex trade, systemic racism, colonialism and prisons. For many students, these are difficult topics. We are interested in generating dialogue about best practices in moving “hot topics” discussions and teaching moments to virtual environments.

The Convenors will pre-circulate the session agenda, which includes some preliminary questions to guide the discussion. The session will open with brief remarks, and organizers will pose orienting questions. Discussions will take place between participants using a speaker’s list, and questions generated in the chat function of the online platform. One facilitator will take notes and provide feedback and notes to interested participants via email following the roundtable.

Convenors:

  • Angela Cameron (Common Law Section, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa)
  • Sonia Lawrence (Osgoode Hall Law School, York University)
  • Jena McGill (Common Law Section, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa)
  • Pooja Parmar (Faculty of Law, University of Victoria)

 

“Hot” Topics in Large Online Law Classes: A Roundtable Discussion

Monday, 27 July 2020, 1PM – 3PM, Eastern Time

This roundtable will gather people who will be teaching LARGE ONLINE CLASSES (i.e. > 30 students in mandatory or all-but-mandatory courses) over the next academic year with significant synchronous components and are interested in discussing approaches to ‘hot’ topics.

Classroom responses to critiques of contemporary Canada revolving around racism, in particular anti-Black racism, coloniality and the experiences of Indigenous nations and people are a significant focus of concern for many law teachers in regular in-person classes and will remain so, in similar and different ways, with the shift to online classes. 

The Conveners will circulate a more detailed agenda to participants and will moderate the discussion so as to ensure appropriate allocations of time to agenda items and participant contributions. The Convenors will also circulate a list of resources for sharing ahead of time and will take suggestions for additions to the list.  The Conveners are not acting as teachers or experts on this topic.  The Roundtable will not address the uses of online teaching platform technology.

Convenors:

  • Jula Hughes (Bora Laskin Faculty of Law, Lakehead University)
  • Sonia Lawrence (Osgoode Hall Law School, York University)
  • Pooja Parmar (Faculty of Law, University of Victoria)

 

Civil procedure and racism : a virtual coffee hour

Monday, July 13, 2020, 2PM - 3PM, Eastern Time

CALT is honoured to host this event as part of its ongoing webinar series, on Monday, July 13, 2020, from 2:00 to 3:00 p.m., EDST, via Zoom:

This session will bring together individuals teaching civil procedure and related subjects to discuss how they might address issues of anti-black and other racism during the 2020-2021 school year. The session aims to enable self-reflection and collaborative thinking. The listed contributors will not try to offer definitive answers. Instead, they will prepare a list of questions to guide the discussion, will seek to elicit ideas from the participants, and will offer some of their own ideas for how they plan to address these subjects. The session aims to foster a community of civil procedure teachers across Canada who are committed to race-conscious teaching and learning and who will continue to learn from one another.

Contributors:

  • Anna Lund, Assistant Professor, University of Alberta (Convener and Session Co-Chair)
  • Nayha Acharya, Assistant Professor, Dalhousie University (Session Co-Chair)
  • Basil Alexander, Assistant Professor, University of New Brunswick (Discussant)

 

Forum on Law Teaching and Learning in the COVID Context

Tuesday, June 2, 2020 from 1PM - 3PM, Eastern Time

The Canadian Association of Law Teachers held two online fora (in “roundtable” format) on law teaching and learning in the COVID context.

The COVID pandemic of 2020 has compelled law faculties to move to online teaching and prompted other major changes, such as modified evaluation schemes. What lessons can law teachers draw from these unprecedented shifts? What further needs are arising, and how should we be trying to meet those needs? What is likely to be the lasting impact? While we lament the circumstances, have we gained any valuable insights or perhaps discovered new approaches that are worth preserving?

The English version took place on Tuesday, June 2, 2020 from 1PM to 3PM EDST.

Panelists included:

  • Olabisi Akinkugbe (Dalhousie University)
  • Lisa Cirillo (Downtown Legal Services, University of Toronto)
  • Catherine Dauvergne (University of British Columbia)
  • Craig Forcese (University of Ottawa)
  • Sonia Lawrence (Osgoode Hall Law School, York University)
  • Shauna Van Praagh (McGill University)

 

Watch the English version here:

 

The French version (jointly organized with the Association des professeures et professeurs de droit du Québec) took place on Wednesday, June 17, 2020 from 1:30PM to 3:30PM EDST. The panel was chaired by Dia Dabby (UQAM) and Sèdjro Hountohotegbè (Université de Sherbrooke).

Panelists included:

  • Andrée Boisselle (Osgoode Hall Law School, York University)
  • François Brochu (Laval University)
  • Thomas Burelli and Alexandre Lillo (University of Ottawa)
  • Adrien Habermacher (University of Moncton)
  • Shauna Van Praagh (McGill University)
  • Nathalie Vézina (Université de Sherbrooke)

Watch the French version here:


Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.